You are here: Home » Countries » Kenya


About Banking in Kenya

The Kenyan banking sector was liberalised in 1995 and exchange controls ware lifted since then. The Kenyan Banking industry is governed by the three important Acts - the Companies Act, the Banking Act, the Central Bank of Kenya Act. The guidelines and rules issued by the Central Bank of Kenya (CBK) are to be strictly followed.

As at December 2008 there were forty six banking and non-banking institutions, fifteen micro finance institutions and one hundred and nine foreign exchange bureaus.

The World Economic Forum, in its report - The Global Competitiveness Report 2010–2011, has ranked Kenya at # 74 with a score of 5.1 in terms of soundness of banks in the country.

Kenya Banking News

Banks in Kenya

  • Abn Amro Bank
  • African Banking Corporation
  • African Development Bank
  • Akiba Bank
  • Bank of Baroda
  • Bank of India
  • Bank of Oman
  • Bank of Tokyo
  • Bankers Trust
  • Banque Indosuez
  • Barclays Bank of Kenya
  • Biashara Bank of Kenya
  • Central Bank of Kenya
  • CFC Bank
  • City Finance Bank
  • Citybank
  • Commercial Bank of Africa
  • Continental Bank of Kenya
  • Cooperative Bank of Kenya
  • Delphis Bank (private bank collapsed with depositors money)
  • Development Bank
  • Diamond Trust Bank
  • East African Development Bank
  • Euro Bank (private bank collapsed with depositors money)
  • First American Bank of Kenya
  • Habib Bank
  • Industrial Development Bank
  • K-Rep Bank (Microfinance)
  • Kenya Commercial Bank* (Listed for privatization by the government)
  • Kenya Post Office Savings Bank (collapsed with depositors money)
  • Kestrel Capital East Africa
  • Korea Exchange Bank
  • Mashreqbank
  • Middle East Bank
  • National Bank of Kenya
  • Panafrican Bank
  • Prudential Bank
  • Riverbank Estate
  • Stanbic Bank
  • Standard Chartered Bank
  • Trade Bank (political bank collapsed with depositors money)
  • Trust Bank
  • Victoria Commercial Bank


Search this site