You are here: Home » Countries » Bangladesh


About Banking in Bangladesh

Soon after its independence, Bangladesh has Dhaka branch of the State Bank of Pakistan was renamed it the Bangladesh Bank and was designated to the central bank of the country. The bank was given the task of regulating currency, controlling credit and monetary policy, and administering exchange control and the official foreign exchange reserves. Another immediate task the Government has done at that time is to nationalize all the banks at that time and rename and reposition them according their positions.

The World Economic Forum, in its report - The Global Competitiveness Report 2010–2011, has ranked Bangladesh at # 82 in terms of soundness of banks in the country.

Banks / ATMs by region

Please select a State / Region

Banks in Bangladesh

  • AB Bank Limited
  • Agrani Bank
  • Al-Arafah Islami Bank Limited
  • Ansar VDP Unnyan Bank
  • Bangladesh Bank
  • Bangladesh Commerce Bank Limited
  • Bangladesh Development Bank Ltd
  • Bangladesh Krishi Bank
  • Bangladesh Somobay Bank Limited(Cooperative Bank)
  • Bank Alfalah
  • Bank Asia Limited
  • BASIC Bank Limited (Bangladesh Small Industries and Commerce Bank Limited)
  • BRAC Bank Limited
  • Citibank
  • Commercial Bank of Ceylon
  • Dhaka Bank Limited
  • Dutch Bangla Bank Limited
  • Eastern Bank Limited
  • Exim Bank Limited
  • First Security Islami Bank Limited
  • Grameen Bank
  • Habib Bank
  • HSBC
  • ICB Islami Bank
  • IFIC Bank Limited
  • Islami Bank Bangladesh Ltd
  • Jamuna Bank Limited
  • Janata Bank
  • Karmosangesthan Bank
  • Mercantile Bank Limited
  • Mutual Trust Bank Limited
  • National Bank Limited
  • National Bank of Pakistan
  • NCC Bank Limited
  • One Bank Limited
  • Prime Bank Limited
  • Pubali Bank
  • Rajshahi Krishi Unnayan Bank
  • Rupali Bank
  • Shahjalal Islami Bank Limited
  • Social Islami Bank Limited
  • Sonali Bank
  • SouthEast Bank Limited
  • Standard Bank Limited
  • Standard Chartered Bank
  • State Bank of India
  • The City Bank Limited
  • The Premier Bank Limited
  • Trust Bank Limited
  • United Commercial Bank Limited
  • Uttara Bank Limited
  • Woori Bank


Search this site